TU Graz


This is an old - not maintained - article of the AEIOU.

In the Austria-Forum you find an updated version of this article in the new AEIOU.

https://austria-forum.org Imprint

Stamp Album
Stamp Album
home austria albums search annotate deutsch

Stamps from the year 1988 (24/35)
1,200 Years Brixen in Thale, Tyrol 1,100th Anniversary of Feldkirchen

Krimml Waterfalls from the series Austria's Natural Beauty

Date of issue: August 19, 1988
Face value: AS 5
Commemorative stamp

The Hohe Tauern is the most magnificent mountain chain of the Eastern Alps. It boasts very diverse formations and is shared by the provinces of Carinthia, Salzburg, and Tyrol. A significant breakthrough in establishing a national park in this region occurred when the provincial heads of Carinthia, Salzburg, and Tyrol signed the Heiligenblut Agreement on October 21, 1971. The park's establishment was delayed until 1984 due to a conflict between national park and ecological interests. The Krimml Waterfalls are situated in the Krimml Municipality on the northwest border of the national park. These are the highest waterfalls in Europe and thus a significant European natural monument. However, since the 19th century they have been involved in conflicts between energy utilization and conservation. Critical to maintaining this impressive marvel of nature was the awarding of the "European Conservation Diploma" by the European Council. This award was also responsible for the inclusion of the Krimml Waterfalls into the Hohe Tauern National Park.

References to other albums:
Encyclopedia of Austria: Krimmler Wasserfälle
Photo Album: Krimml

Search for links to this page
help aeiou project of the bm:bwk copyrights e-mail