TU Graz


This is an old - not maintained - article of the AEIOU.

In the Austria-Forum you find an updated version of this article in the new AEIOU.

https://austria-forum.org Imprint

Stamp Album
Stamp Album
home austria albums search annotate deutsch

Stamps from the year 1987 (23/36)
Loretto Monastery, Burgenland from the series Monasteries of Austria Gauer Valley/Montafon - Rätikon/Vorarlberg from the series Natural Beauties of Austria

850th Anniversary of Arbing (1137-1987)

Date of issue: August 21, 1987
Face value: AS 5
Commemorative stamp

The town of Arbing lies between the hilly Mühlviertel in the Machland district and the Danube basin. Human colonization in this region dating back to the Early Stone Ages (ca. 5,000-1,900 B.C.) can be proved beyond a doubt. The name "Arbing" is derived from the personal name "Arbeo" or "Arbo". It is a genuine "-ing" name, thus indicating that it was founded in the Early Middle Ages (8th or 9th century) by the Bavarian tribe, although reference to its name is missing from this period. It was first officially named in the year 1137. A decree was issued by Austrian Duke Leopold IV in which he waived all claim to the possessions of the St. Florian Monastery at Windberg. A "Gerboto de arbingin" is named among the witnesses to this waiver decree. In ecclesial matters, Arbing belonged to the parish of Naarn, mentioned in the year 823. The church (castle chapel) inside the medieval castle complex served as the baptismal chapel of the greater parish of Naarn. In 1147 Arbing was annexed to the newly-founded Waldhausen Monastery and parish rights were exercised through to the monastery's abolition under Leopold II (1790-1792). Today Arbing's landscape is dominated by preserved sections of the castle and the medieval church with its unique tower.

Search for links to this page
help aeiou project of the bm:bwk copyrights e-mail